十年TravelScoot電動代步車
可折疊的電動代步車TravelScoot

話題


鋰電池代步車 之 航空旅遊使用提示

近年來很流行鋰電池,因為鋰電池比鉛酸電池 因為鋰電池比鉛酸電池多10倍的能量密度 (功率比重量) 和更佳的長壽度。. 但是,鋰電池有一定的火災風險,所以必須有特殊交通規則與條例 (主要是航空運輸,但陸地和海上運輸也是)來把關電池的製造和運輸。

IATA國際航空運輸協會 便是把關這個安全的主要機構。


殘障人士醫療代步車的特別待遇

電池容量是以伏特(V)乘以安培小時 (Ah)來得到瓦特小時 (Wh),這正是航空運輸電池測量的標準。消費類電子產品,如手機、手提電腦,的鋰電池最高限度為100Wh,而工具和電器的最高限度為160Wh。這些限度對一個電子機動車算是低的,所以殘障人士醫療代步車通常都享有特別待遇。這個特殊待遇通常允許航空旅遊可攜帶一個低於300Wh的鋰電池,外加一個300Wh的備用電池 (或兩個分別低於160Wh的備用鋰電池)。

鋰電池都必須經過國際機構UN 38.3 認證,並顯示在電池上。大多數航空公司接受IATA國際航空運輸協會的條例,但是有一些(主要是小型的)航空公司只接受低於160 Wh 的鋰電池。

以下是電池文件可提供下載列印,還有特殊例外的航空公司名單 (這個名單也許並不完全,只是我們的經驗之談)。

我們一般建議瀏覽你乘坐的航空公司網頁上,給特殊需求旅客的訊息。報備航空公司您即將帶上代步車乘坐他們的班機。

鋰電池都必須經過國際機構UN 38.3 認證,並顯示在電池上。大多數航空公司接受IATA國際航空運輸協會的條例,但是有一些(主要是小型的)航空公司只接受低於160 Wh 的鋰電池。


代步車航空旅遊事前準備


1. 機場報到


  • 在辦理報到手續時,保持坐姿,使機場人員明白,您有行走不便的問題。

  • 不一定要摺疊TravelScoot車身。

  • 過安檢時,把所有備用電池整齊疊放在你的主要電池上面,接受檢查。不要把任何電池放在行李袋裡面!

為了減少代步車上飛機的程序,最好在家就先把車身靠背收拾好,放在你的托運行李。在機場騎乘沒有靠背的 TravelScoot, 上下車時才更加方便,因為隨身行李可放置在車架上,使用者於座位後方腳跨乘上車,就像騎單人自行車這樣上車。*

TravelScoot transports a suitcase

*我們最近介紹了一種座位改造,讓您能夠把靠背倒著裝。這樣解決了把靠背拆除時要放在哪裡這個問題。彈簧按鈕可以像之前一樣裝在靠背下方,或是使用鉗子把它移到左右兩側,讓靠背可以倒裝。舊型的TravelScoot也可以這樣改造。

TravelScoot with backrest attachment pointing downwards

2. 登機門

最好在登機檢查人員視野附近等待,殘障人士和有小孩的家庭通常會優先登機。

3. 跟著代步車一起登機

電池是不可以上貨艙的,但是也必須被移除,乘客必須把電池放在一個適合的袋子裡 (例如裝在我們旅行組配件的旅行袋) 手提上飛機。

取下電池放在電池厚型提袋,把旅行組配件的細長型的軟墊套於手把與電控裝置區做保護,車子把手下降到最低點。將靠背取出,倒轉180度裝進原來取出的地方就好了。

現在,靠背保護好不會遺失,也讓車身比較好單手搬運。

Lift up the TravelScoot with one hand

4. 抵達目的地

保持座位,直到所有旅客都下機之後,您的TravelScoot會送到飛機口給你,或是航空公司會以輪椅接送您到行李認領區。

事先跟服務你的空服人員打聲招呼是個明智的做法 (最好跟歡迎您上飛機,目睹您交車TravelScoot那位),並請他/她協助你到達目的地後領取你的TravelScoot。


Useful documents for transportation of batteries

Due to the heightened scrutiny paid to battery-operated equipment by airline staff, misunderstandings can and do occur regarding battery-powered mobility scooters and other medical assistive devices. That is why we suggest, for the time being, that you print out the following documents (these are also listed at the bottom of our airport-information page. These pertain to the TravelScoot lithium-ion battery, and consist of the:


中國(所有航空公司及機場)

中國嚴格遵守電池容量高達160 Wh 的備用鋰電池只能攜帶兩個。

有些旅客他們開始航行時已經通過允許電池容量300 Wh的國家,但在中國報到或轉機時電池/電池組是很可能會將被中國當局給沒收。即便乘客只是在中國做中轉站臨時滯留還是會被嚴格的安全檢查。電池需從代步車上取下並徹底檢查。有些乘客分享說電池已經被沒收一個月,但他們仍然無法通過空運運送回電池。


代步裝置

使用鋰離子電池的折疊式電動代步車: 鋰離子電池必須從代步車上卸下並在機艙內運輸。如果代步裝置配備一塊電池,該電池的容量不得超過300瓦時(Wh)。 如果代步裝置使用兩塊電池,每塊均不得超過160Wh。 一塊額外(備用)電池不得超過300Wh,或兩塊額外(備用)電池,每塊均不得超過160Wh,並且均須在機艙內運輸。


Air Canada

Permits up to 300 Wh.


Airfrance/KLM

有趣的是,航空公司同屬一個行業,但各自的規則不同。AF允許300 Wh,但KLM只允許160 Wh。

採用鋰離子電池供電的輪椅和其他行走障礙乘客的代步輔助裝置:容量超過300瓦時(Wh)的可拆卸電池不允許在飛機上運輸。


Air Asia

我的電池如何才能在飛機上運輸?

對於使用一塊鋰離子電池的代步裝置,該電池不得超過300瓦時(Wh)。 對於使用兩塊鋰離子電池的代步裝置,單塊電池的容量不能超過160Wh。

一塊不超過300Wh的額外(備用)電池或兩塊額外(備用)電池(每塊均不超過160 Wh)可以在機艙內運輸,並且必須裝在製造商的電池袋中。


IcelandAir

冰島航空公司對於TravelScoot的運輸裝置沒有明確的發布政策,但是這裡有一項最近來自冰島航空公司特別服務部的回應。


Norwegian Airlines

Norwegian Airlines permit 160 Wh batteries only

詢價請洽台灣經銷商

聯絡我們

10 years TravelScoot electric mobility scooter
Folding mobility scooter TravelScoot

Topics


Air Travel With A Handicap Scooter With Lithium Batteries

Lithium batteries have become increasingly popular due to their almost ten-fold energy density (power to weight) and superior longevity over lead-acid batteries. However, lithium batteries pose a certain fire risk, which is why transportation rules and regulations (mainly for air transport, but also land and sea) have been put in place governing their manufacture and carriage.

The IATA (International Air Transport Association) was the lead agency in this effort.


Special allowance for medical mobility devices accompanying handicapped passengers

Battery capacity is determined by multiplying Volts (V) by Ampere-hours (Ah) to get Watt-hours (Wh), which has been adopted as the measure for air transport. The upper limits for lithium-ion batteries for so-called Consumer Electronics such as cell phones and laptop computers are 100Wh, and 160Wh for tools and appliances. These limits are a bit low for electric vehicles, and therefore a special allowance was made for medical mobility devices accompanying handicapped passengers. This permits one main battery of up to 300Wh. In addition one spare battery of up to 300Wh or two 160Wh spares.

All lithium-ion batteries must be tested per UN38.3 by an internationally recognized facility, and this must be displayed on the battery. Most airlines adhere to the IATA guidelines, but a few, mostly small, airlines deviate and allow only 160Wh.

Below is battery documentation to download and print as well as a list of airlines that impose this limit and/or deviate from other standard practices (this list may not be comprehensive).

We generally recommend visiting the website of your airline and viewing their information for travelers with special needs. Tell your airline that you will be traveling with your mobility scooter.

All lithium-ion batteries must be tested per UN38.3 by an internationally recognized facility, and this must be displayed on the battery. Most airlines adhere to the IATA guidelines, but a few, mostly small, airlines deviate and allow only 160Wh.


Preparing your TravelScoot for air transport


1. Check-In


  • Remain seated during check-in. This allows the agent to recognize that you have a walking disability without further discussion.

  • It is not necessary to fold and pack your TravelScoot.

  • Stack any spare batteries on top of your main battery so they are in plain sight when going through security. Do not place any batteries in your luggage!

TravelScoot transports a suitcase

To ease the aircraft loading process we suggest removing the backrest early (possibly at home) and packing it with your luggage, if possible. This permits larger luggage pieces to be placed across the frame in front of the seat, if you are able and willing to get on and off your TravelScoot from behind.*

*We have recently introduced a seat plate modification that lets you install the backrest upside down. That eliminates the problem of where to put the backrest when it needs to be removed for stowage aboard a passenger plane. The spring button can remain installed in the bottom of the backrest elbow like before, or, with the aid of pair of pliers it can be relocated to the left or right side to allow inverted installation. With some skills this modification can be implemented also on an older TravelScoot

TravelScoot with backrest attachment pointing downwards

2. At the gate

Stay in the gate agent's field of vision; Passengers with disabilities as well as families with children get priority boarding.

3. Boarding the plane with the mobility scooter

Batteries are not permitted in the cargo hold, but must be removed, placed in a suitable case (our Travel set, for example) and carried by the passenger into the cabin.

Remove the battery/batteries, place in the padded Travel set bag, install the padded Travel set handlebar cover over the handlebars, and lower the handlebars to the lowest setting. Once the backrest is installed in the inverted position, just release the seat lever clamp, lift the seat up a bit, rotate it 180 degrees, lower again and close the lever clamp.

Lift up the TravelScoot with one hand

Now, the backrest is better protected against damage and loss, and also provides a handy center-of-gravity handle to allow easy single-handed lifting.

4. After landing

Remain seated until all other passengers have deplaned. It will take a while for your TravelScoot is either brought to the aircraft or you are taken to baggage claim by wheelchair.

It is a good idea to contact a flight attendant (maybe the one welcoming you on board and who has seen you handing off your TravelScoot) and ask them to assist you in getting “reunited” with your scooter at your destination.


Useful documents for transportation of batteries

Due to the heightened scrutiny paid to battery-operated equipment by airline staff, misunderstandings can and do occur regarding battery-powered mobility scooters and other medical assistive devices. That is why we suggest, for the time being, that you print out the following documents (these are also listed at the bottom of our airport-information page. These pertain to the TravelScoot lithium-ion battery, and consist of the:


China (All airlines and all airports)

China strictly observes a limit of batteries up to 160 Wh plus up to two spares.

Even in the event that travelers have initiated their flight in a country where the 300 Wh battery was permitted, it is quite probable that the battery/batteries will be conifiscated by Chinese authorities upon transfer reboarding or check-in in China. Even passengers with only an intermidiate layover in China are subjected to the same exacting security screening. Batteries are removed from the vehicles and thoroughly examined. The passenger then has one month to claim the confiscated battery, but they will still not be able to transport the battery by air.


Emirates

Mobility Aids: Folding mobility scooters using lithium-ion batteries: The lithium-ion battery must be removed from the scooter and transported in the cabin. These batteries shall not exceed 300 Watt-hours (Wh) in capacity if the mobility device is equipped with one battery. If the device uses two batteries, they shall not exceed 160 Wh each. One additional (spare) battery of up 300Wh, or two additional (spare) batteries up to 160Wh each are permitted, and also must be transported in the cabin.


Air Canada

Permits up to 300 Wh.


Airfrance/KLM

Interestingly, they belong together but have different rules. AF allow 300 Wh but KLM allow 160 Wh only.

Lithium-ion battery powered wheel chairs and other mobility aids for passengers with walking disabilities: Removable batteries with a capacity exceeding 300 Watt-hours (Wh) are not permitted on board the aircraft.


Air Asia

How can my batteries be taken on board?

The lithium-ion battery capacity cannot exceed 300 Watt-hours (Wh) for mobility devices using one battery. For devices using two lithium-ion batteries, there individual capacity cannot exceed 160 Wh each.

One additional (spare) battery not exceeding 300 Wh, or two additional (spare) batteries not exceeding 160 Wh each, may be transported in the cabin, and must be placed in a manufacture-sourced battery pouch.


IcelandAir

IcelandAir has no specific published policy towards transporting the TravelScoot, but here is a recent response from IcelandAir’s special sevices dept.


Eurowings

Permits max. 160 Wh plus an equal spare battery.


Norwegian Airlines

Norwegian Airlines permit 160 Wh batteries only

For prices choose one of our world-wide distributors

Show Distributors